It’s a Sci-Fi Life

WriteSoc
2 min readOct 4, 2021

“We accept only cards, sir! “ said the robot in the cash counter. Sadly, I forgot my card at home. However I had my phone. Tapped on the app ‘Call my Robbo’. It’s a new gen app where a robo will do all the tasks you assign him, at free of cost.I was reminded of my memories a decade back. The shopkeeper would tell me, “We accept only cash, sir. “

Now it is all cards.

I assigned the robo to bring the card from my home within half an hour, whose notification went to my sister, with all the details about the robot. All she has to do is just give the card to the robot. Sure enough, within half of the time I gave the robot, it was in front of me, with my card.

I went back to the billing counter and just tapped my card, where I was immediately notified about my transaction. I picked up the groceries and went towards the parking lot, where my car was there. I opened the door and kept the groceries, and ordered the car to reach me home. The cars now drive automatically, without any help manually. Not more than five years ago, cars had to be driven manually and changing the gears was a huge issue. If at all I sleep in car, the sensors could drive all by itself, and even could wake me up by saying, “We’ve reached home.” On reaching home, the door automatically opens by face scanning me, post which I keep the groceries near the kitchen and go for a nap. The nap, perhaps is the only thing, untouched by technology.

~Samiddho Chatterjee(21BEC1133)

--

--

WriteSoc

Hi everyone! We at the English Literary Association (LitSoc) of VIT Chennai are glad to present our very own blog. You can read amazing poems and stories here!